Muhammad Usman

    Senior Lecturer
    Quantum Computing - Device Theory, Simulations, and Algorithms     
    School of Computing and Information Systems, Melbourne School of Engineering,
    Centre for Quantum Computation and Communication Technology, School of Physics, 
    The University of Melbourne, Parkville, 3010, VIC Australia.

Contact details: Email: musman (at) unimelb (dot) edu (dot) au
                            Address: Room 287, Quantum Precinct, David Caro Building, The University of Melbourne, Parkville, Victoria Australia.
                            CIS Web page
                            Nanohub Contributor Address
                            UniMelb Find An Expert Page


    2019-current: Senior Lecturer (C), School of Computing and Information Systems, Melbourne School of Engineering, University of Melbourne, VIC Australia.

    2014-2019: Research-Fellow (B), Centre for Quantum Computation and Communication Technology, School of Physics, University of Melbourne, VIC Australia.

    2010-2014: Post-doc, Tyndall National Institute, Cork Ireland.


    2010: PhD Electrical and Computer Engineering, Purdue University West Lafayette Indiana USA.

    2005: MSc Electrical Engineering (Honours), University of Engineering and Technology Lahore.

    2003: BSc Electrical Engineering (Honours & Distinction), University of Engineering and Technology Lahore.

Selected Awards and Fellowships:

    Army Quantum Technology Challenge 2021 (A$50,000)    

    Elsevier, Finalist in the world-wide 2nd Rising Stars in Computational Materials Science Competition (2020)

    Defence Science Institute (DST) Quantum Computing Grant 2020 (A$50,000)    

    Dean's Award for Excellence in Research, the University of Melbourne (2019)

    DAAD Research Fellowship (Euros 40,000) (2010)

    Purdue University, Graduate School Tuition Award (2006) 

    USA DOS Fulbright Fellowship (US$300,000) (2005)

    K.E. Durrani Fellowship (2002-03) 

    Government of Pakistan Awards (1996 and 1998)

RHD Student Supervision:

Current Students:

    Spiro Gicev               PhD    co-supervised with Lloyd Hollenberg                                     Project topic: Surface code error correction schemes

    Kanwal Aslam           PhD    co-supervised with Udaya Parampalli                                    Project topic: Post-quantum crypto and secure communication

    Peiyong Wong           PhD     co-supervised with Casey Myers                                          Project topic: Machine learning in variational quantum simulations
    Maxwell West            MSc                                                                                                   Project topic: Spin qubit design and characterisation by STM

    Shwetha Srinivasan  MSc                                                                                                    Project topic: Machine learning for scanning probe microscopy

    Ben Harper                MSc    co-supervised with Charles Hill                                              Project topic: Stabiliser Simulations

    Oscar Glenister         MSc    co-supervised with Liam Hall and Charles Hill                        Project topic: Machine learning in quantum control 

    Shaobo Zhang          MSc    co-supervised with Charles Hill                                              Project topic: VQE on NISQ devices

    Fanzhe Qu                MSc    co-supervised with Sarah Erfani                                            Project topic: Large classical data analysis on small quantum computers

    Quin Arnold               MSc                                                                                                   Project topic: Design and characterisation of multi-qubit devices

Completed Students:

DurationProject Student Name Main Supervisor  Co-SupervisorBrief Project DescriptionPublications/Outcomes
MSc Spiro Gicev  Muhammad UsmanLloyd Hollenberg Electronic signature of intermolecular interactions in MgPc on Ag surfacesMSc Thesis Completed.
Small e2005974, 2021. 
 2017-2018MSc Yi Zheng Wong (Alfred) Muhammad UsmanLloyd Hollenberg Autonomous spatial metrology of spin qubits in silicon  MSc Thesis Completed.
npj Computational Materials 6, 19, 2020
MScAdam J. Brownstein Lloyd Hollenberg 
Charles D. Hill
Muhammad UsmanPhysical qubits and trajectory simulations MSc Thesis Completed.
 2010-2014PhD Christopher A. Broderick 
Eoin O'Reilly
Muhammad Usman
Tight-binding and k.p study of bismide materials and laser devices 
PhD Thesis Completed. 
Semicond. Sci. Technol. 27, 094011 (2012)
Semicond. Sci. Technol., 28, 125025, (2013)
2008-2010 MSc  Sadia Nawaz Johannes Strobel Muhammad UsmanKeyword based approach for defining EER as a case of virtual organisation  IJEEE Vol. 50, No. 3, 316-340 (2013)
 2008-2010 MSc Yui-Hong Mathias Tan Gerhard Klimeck Muhammad Usman Coherent control of electronic states in bilayer QD molecules by application of external electric fields Nanotechnology 22, 315709 (2011)
MSc Thesis Completed
2008-2010 MScSadia Nawaz Muhammad Kamran Muhammad Usman Design of asynchronous data path for 64 bit architecture  MSc Thesis Completed
2009BSc (SURF)Selva Kumaran Vadivel Gerhard Klimeck Muhammad Usman  Development of nanohub tool for atomistic simulations of multi-layer stacked quantum dots A simulation tool to be deployed on nanohub platform  
2008BSc (SURF) Drew Schuster Gerhard KlimeckMuhammad Usman  Development of a nanohub tool for multi-million atom simulations of quantum dots 

Professional Memberships and Affiliations:

    American Physical Society (APS) 
    Australian Institute of Physics (AIP)
    Materials Research Society (MRS)
    Engineers Australia
    Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
    Network for Computational Nanotechnology (NCN) 

Experimental Collaborators (Past & Present):

Agustin Schiffrin (Monash University Australia)
Sven Rogge, Joe Salfi, and Benoit Voisin (University of New South Wales, Sydney Australia)
Michelle Simmons (University of New South Wales, Sydney Australia)
Hans Huebl and Martin S. Brandt (Walter-Schottky Institute, Germany)
Stephen Sweeney (University of Surrey UK)
Takashi Kita (Kobe University Japan)
Edmund Clarke and Ray Murray (Imperial College London UK)
Vittoriana Tasco and Adriana Passaseo (National Nanotechnology Laboratory Italy)

Theory Collaborators (Past & Present):

Lloyd C. L. Hollenberg (The University of Melbourne, Australia)
Christopher Broderick and Eoin O'Reilly (Tyndall National Institute, Cork Ireland)
Gerhard Klimeck (Purdue University USA)
Shaikh S. Ahmed (Southern Illinois University USA)
Timothy B. Boykin (University of Alabama, USA)
Stefan Schulz (Tyndall National Institute, Cork Ireland)
Charles D. Hill (University of Melbourne, Australia)


2019 Dean's Award for Excellence in Research (November 2019)

STM Team

Left to right: Joe Salfi, Benoit Voisin, Lloyd Hollenberg, Muhammad Usman, Juanita Bocquel, Sven Rogge, Michelle Simmons (June 2016)
(left to right) Joe Salfi, Benoit Voisin, Lloyd Hollenberg, Muhammad Usman, Juanita Bocquel, Sven Rogge, Michelle Simmons (June 2016)

Research group @ University of Melbourne in 2015

Quantum Computing in Room 225 (Dr. Charles Hill and Dr. Muhammad Usman)

Research group @ Purdue in 2010

My Supervisors:

2014-2019       Lloyd C.L. Hollenberg (University of Melbourne, VIC Australia) -- Personal Web
2010-2014       Eoin P. O'Reilly (Tyndall National Institute, Cork Ireland) -- Personal WebGoogle-Scholar
2005-2010       Gerhard Klimeck (Purdue University, Indiana, USA) -- Personal WebGoogle-Scholar